COMPUTER SCAMMERS CONTINUE TO PHONE ME …..

This blog is a warning about the three telephone calls we receive every day here in South Australia.  The callers are either from:

  1. “The Windows NT Department”
  2. “Technical Support Department of Telstra” (our main venerated phone carrier in Australia for non Australian readers’ information)
  3. “Microsoft Technical Support Department”

I know we are going to receive the phone calls because throughout the day when the phone rings and I pick up, I hear some garbled “electronic noises” and then nothing else.  Silence reigns until I hang up.  When this happens, I know I am going to have an interesting evening in receiving interrupting phone calls when I am trying to cook dinner or work after dinner.

Does this sound familiar readers?  All three of these are scammers and are after your money.  Their spiel is typically formulaic.

“Hello, I am ……. and I am calling from the Windows NT Department/Telstra/Microsoft (take your pick reader as you probably receive one of three here in Australia).  The fake phone company call continues, “I am calling you to tell you that your computer will be turned off within half an hour unless you do some checks straight away.  The spiel varies a bit such as the scammer informing us that our internet is clogging up the lines and causing viruses.  Other bolder scammers immediately suggest me placing their grubby thieving little hands on my computer via remote access.

Readers, these are scammers and have been widely reported in the USA.  My usual response these days is extremely abusive, questioning the ancestry of these people.  I also ask them what type of parents they had to produce thieving scum like this who prey on the ignorance and goodwill of hard working people around the world.  My next step involves associating the caller with Satan.  This one does not go down too well folks because they hang up quickly.  Whilst I have no issues with “Old Nick”, apparently the scammer finds great offence to my suggestion they are the spawn of The Beast.  I will sometimes receive an immediate call back from this lot with the automated voice pronouncing the word “Die” for my consideration.  My Satan line usually evokes this response.  I wonder why?

Of course, you can take the “be kind to everyone” route but this will not work with this lot. Believe me, I have tried it and it only fuels the flame of greed on the other end of the line.  Pious sentiment does not wash with this lot.  Make no mistakes.  They are after your hard earned money and will not hesitate to download malware that will essentially lock up your computer, forcing you to pay them a ransom for access.  The most effective means of dealing with this lot is to converse in terms of their preferred currency (pardon the pun) they are dealing with: money.

My best response to date is to to immediately ask for the person’s VISA/Mastercard details.  I have an EFTPOS machine here at home for my businesses. My time is precious so I rightly ask the said scammer to contribute a sum of money to my bank account via my EFTPOS machine for my time.  This last request probably results in the quickest end of the phone call from these scammers.

Please read:  THESE ARE SCAMMERS AFTER YOUR MONEY. IF YOU SUSPECT YOU HAVE PROBLEMS WITH YOUR COMPUTER, PLEASE CONSULT A COMPUTER TECHNICIAN AND NOT SOME COLD CALLING, AMORAL, SCUMBAG BOZO WHO IS AFTER YOUR MONEY!

DO NOT DOWNLOAD ANYTHING FROM THESE SCAMMERS. DO NOT VISIT ANY WEBSITES THESE SCAMMERS TELL YOU TO VISIT.  YOUR COMPUTER MAY END UP BEING LOCKED SO YOU CAN’T USE IT UNLESS YOU PAY THEM MONEY!  Try being kind to someone who does that to you. I bet you can’t!

Leave a Reply

